Urgences chimiques

Risques Technologiques

Urgences chimiques

Préparé par le TESEC, Centre européen de sécurité technologique (Kiev, Ukraine) 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Les termes « accident chimique » et « urgence chimique » désignent un événement grave dû à un ou des produits dangereux pour la santé humaine et/ou l’environnement à court ou moyen terme. Par événement, il faut entendre les incendies, les explosions ou les fuites de produits toxiques qui peuvent causer des maladies, des blessures, des invalidités ou la mort à un grand nombre d’êtres humains.

La population peut être touchée par la contamination de l’air, de l’eau ou de la chaîne alimentaire résultant d’un accident chimique. Les personnes exposées se trouvent fréquemment à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur d’un site industriel. Dans une zone urbaine, la population exposée peut se trouver près d’un véhicule accidenté transportant des produits dangereux. Elle peut se trouver également, mais c’est moins fréquent, à une certaine distance du site de l’accident, y compris des zones transfrontalières. Outre leurs effets sur la santé humaine, les accidents chimiques peuvent être la cause de dégâts énormes ou à long terme pour l’environnement et représenter des coûts économiques considérables.

Les termes « accident chimique » et « urgence chimique » désignent un événement grave dû à un ou des produits dangereux pour la santé humaine et/ou l’environnement à court ou moyen terme. Par événement, il faut entendre les incendies, les explosions ou les fuites de produits toxiques qui peuvent causer des maladies, des blessures, des invalidités ou la mort à un grand nombre d’êtres humains.

Cette définition doit être rapprochée du concept d’« accident chimique » dans lequel une exposition résultant d’une contamination par un ou des produits peut déboucher sur une maladie ou une probabilité de maladie. Le nombre de personnes touchées par un accident chimique peut être réduit (quelques personnes, voire aucune) et la maladie, l’invalidité ou la mort peuvent se produire longtemps après l’exposition (par exemple plusieurs années).

Du point de vue de la santé, il existe de nombreuses façons de classer l’urgence chimique, aucune n’étant complète ou mutuellement exclusive. La classification pourrait se fonder sur les critères suivants :

  • le ou les produits chimiques concernés, la quantité libérée, leur forme physique, l’endroit de la fuite et la façon dont elle s’est produite ;
  • les sources de la fuite ;
  • l’étendue de la zone contaminée ;
  • le nombre de personnes exposées au risque ;
  • les voies d’exposition ;
  • les conséquences sanitaires ou médicales de l’exposition.

Dans le cas d’un accident chimique, les principales voies d’exposition pour l’homme sont la dispersion dans l’eau ou l’air de produits dangereux.

Les produits chimiques sont présents dans le monde entier, principalement dans les sites industriels et pendant leur transport par les voies routières, ferroviaires et fluviales. S’ils ne sont pas utilisés comme il convient, ils peuvent constituer un danger pour notre santé et empoisonner notre environnement. Des accidents, notamment les incendies, les explosions ou les fuites de produits toxiques, peuvent avoir des effets nuisibles sur la santé humaine, les biens et l’environnement. L’exposition humaine aux produits dangereux peut causer des blessures, voire la mort d’un grand nombre d’êtres humains.

La production et l’utilisation de produits chimiques sont des facteurs fondamentaux dans le développement économique de tous les pays, qu’ils soient industrialisés ou en développement. D’une façon ou d’une autre, les produits chimiques touchent directement ou indirectement tous les êtres humains et sont essentiels pour notre alimentation (engrais, pesticides, additifs alimentaires, conditionnement), notre santé (produits pharmaceutiques, de nettoyage) ou notre bien-être (appareils, carburants, etc.). Les produits chimiques font désormais partie de notre vie, contribuent à bon nombre de nos activités, préviennent ou maîtrisent de nombreuses maladies, accroissent la productivité agricole.

Il n’y a pas que le travailleur qui manipule les produits chimiques qui court un risque. Chacun de nous peut aussi être exposé à son domicile, par une mauvaise utilisation ou un accident, et être contaminé par des produits de consommation, notamment les produits alimentaires.

La plupart des accidents chimiques ont un effet limité. On note cependant de très grandes catastrophes comme:

  • la fuite de gaz de 1984 à Bhopal (Inde) avec des milliers de morts et de nombreuses personnes handicapées de façon permanente (http://www.bhopal.com);
  • les explosions de 2000 dans la société Fireworks S.E. qui stockait et assemblait des feux d’artifices dans la ville d’Enschede (Pays-Bas) ont causé la mort de 22 personnes et blessé près de 1000 autres. L’incident a causé des dommages considérables sur une vaste zone entourant immédiatement l’usine, y compris une zone résidentielle ainsi que la brasserie Grolsch (contenant un grand système de réfrigération à l’ammoniac);
  • l’accident de l’usine AZF 2001 à Toulouse (France) où une explosion de 300 tonnes de nitrate d’ammonium à l’unité d’engrais a fait 30 morts et environ 10000 blessures.

L’environnement peut être dégradé et les produits chimiques peuvent polluer l’air que nous respirons, l’eau que nous buvons et les aliments que nous consommons. Ils peuvent avoir contaminé les forêts et les lacs, détruit la vie sauvage et modifié les écosystèmes.

L’exposition humaine peut avoir lieu directement, par le contact avec la peau ou l’œil, l’inhalation ou l’ingestion de produits chimiques, ou sans contact direct, comme dans le cas des produits radioactifs et de leur rayonnement à distance. Les effets nuisibles des produits chimiques dépendent de leur toxicité et de la durée d’exposition. La toxicité est une propriété du produit lui-même tandis que l’exposition dépend de la manière dont il est utilisé. Le niveau d’exposition dépend de la concentration du produit et de la durée du contact. De nombreux produits sont inodores même lorsqu’ils sont présents à des concentrations dangereuses dans l’air, sur le lieu de travail par exemple.

Les effets des produits chimiques sur l’être humain peuvent être aggravés. Après une brève exposition, des effets immédiats peuvent être ressentis. Des effets chroniques supposent une exposition répétée et un certain laps de temps entre la première exposition et l’apparition d’effets nuisibles sur la santé. Un produit peut avoir des effets graves et chroniques qui se traduisent par une pathologie permanente. L’exposition à des solvants peut entraîner des dermatoses, des maux de tête ou des nausées. Ces effets pourraient être graves et temporaires. Les solvants peuvent aussi avoir des effets chroniques et se traduire par des dégâts causés d’une manière permanente et irréversible au système nerveux.

Un accident chimique n’entraîne pas uniquement une exposition humaine, la mort ou une invalidité, mais également une contamination de l’environnement, qui doit être décontaminé et remis en état. Les accidents graves, comme ceux qui se sont produits à Bhopal en 1984, à Enschede en 2 000 et à Toulouse en 2001, et qui ont causé des milliers de victimes, ont des conséquences économiques, sociales et culturelles.

La prévention d’un accident chimique et la protection de la population et de l’environnement contre ce type d’accident reposent sur un système intégré de gestion des urgences comprenant des éléments clés : prévention, état de préparation, réponse et secours.

La prévention a un objectif principal: prévenir les accidents dus à des produits dangereux et limiter toute incidence nuisible sur la santé en cas d’accident.

La direction d’un site dangereux doit prévoir la sûreté de la conception, de la construction et de l’exploitation ainsi que la mise en place de moyens pour que cette sûreté soit assurée.

Les pouvoirs publics, notamment les autorités sanitaires, de divers pays doivent coopérer et échanger des informations afin de prévenir les accidents et de réduire l’exposition humaine aux produits chimiques. Les professionnels du secteur médico-sanitaire doivent participer à la prise de décision concernant la prévention des accidents chimiques.

L’état de préparation, la réponse et le secours sont les principaux outils d’atténuation des effets d’une urgence chimique.

L’état de préparation aux urgences a un objectif principal qui est l’atténuation des effets nuisibles d’un accident. Les rôles et les responsabilités des individus et des organisations censés participer aux interventions d’urgence doivent être clairement définis dans des plans de secours d’urgence (y compris la capacité d’interpréter les signaux d’alerte et d’agir en connaissance de cause en cas d’urgence). Dans le cadre du processus de planification d’une intervention d’urgence, il est nécessaire de pouvoir identifier les risques potentiels ainsi que les zones géographiques où les effets sont susceptibles de se produire en cas d’accident. C’est en connaissant les sources et la nature du risque chimique que l’on peut assurer la sécurité.

La planification de l’état de préparation et des interventions doit prendre en compte la nature des effets cliniques et psychologiques éventuels sur les personnes qui pourraient être touchées, notamment le personnel d’intervention, les travailleurs et la population locale.

Les hôpitaux et d’autres centres de traitement, qui peuvent être utilisés lors d’une intervention en cas d’accident dû à des produits chimiques, devraient élaborer des systèmes d’accueil et de traitement simultanés d’un grand nombre de patients.

L’intervention d’urgence en cas d’accident a un objectif principal: se protéger et protéger les autres contre les effets nuisibles. Le coordonnateur qui est sur place doit décider des mesures immédiates à prendre, y compris les mesures prévues pour éviter ou limiter l’exposition aux produits dangereux, en se fondant sur des informations préliminaires concernant le site, la nature de la fuite, le ou les produits concernés, et toutes les analyses pertinentes disponibles. Le personnel médico-sanitaire doit fournir une aide, sur demande, à cette prise de décisions. Les pouvoirs publics et les acteurs industriels doivent améliorer la sensibilisation du public aux dangers que représentent les produits chimiques dans la communauté, et à la manière de réagir en cas d’accident, par exemple en comprenant les procédures liées à des évacuations possibles et à un hébergement. Si un accident se produit, le public doit être informé, en détail et en permanence, de la conduite à tenir et des mesures de sécurité à adopter.

Un suivi épidémiologique et médical des populations doit être assuré après une exposition accidentelle à des produits chimiques toxiques. Les personnes qui peuvent avoir été exposées d’une manière importante à des produits chimiques pendant un accident, qu’elles semblent affectées ou non, doivent être examinées et enregistrées comme il convient afin qu’elles puissent bénéficier d’un suivi à court et long terme. Il est conseillé de prendre des échantillons biologiques pour une analyse immédiate ou ultérieure.

Les effets nuisibles des produits chimiques dépendent de leur toxicité et de la durée d’exposition. La toxicité est une propriété du produit lui-même tandis que l’exposition dépend de la manière dont il est utilisé. Le niveau d’exposition dépend de la concentration du produit et de la durée du contact. De nombreux produits sont inodores même lorsqu’ils sont présents à des concentrations dangereuses dans l’air, sur le lieu de travail par exemple.

La première, et la plus essentielle, étape pour utiliser des produits chimiques en toute sûreté est de connaître leur nature, leur dénomination, les risques qu’ils posent pour la santé et l’environnement, ainsi que les moyens de les contrôler. Ces connaissances doivent être mises à disposition aisément et à un coût raisonnable. Par ailleurs, ces connaissances, complexes par essence, doivent être organisées de telle sorte que les informations essentielles sur les dangers et les mesures de protection correspondantes puissent être rassemblées et communiquées à l’utilisateur dans une forme facile à comprendre.

La protection des populations et de l’environnement est un objectif essentiel de tout système de gestion des situations d’urgence. La direction d’un site dangereux a la responsabilité de prévoir la sûreté de la conception, de la construction et de l’exploitation ainsi que la mise en place de moyens pour que cette sûreté soit assurée.

Aucun produit chimique ne peut causer d’effets nuisibles sans pénétrer d’abord dans le corps ou entrer en contact avec lui. Les produits chimiques peuvent pénétrer dans le corps humain de quatre façons, ou voies d’exposition:

  • l’inhalation (voies respiratoires) ;
  • l’absorption (voies dermiques ou oculaires) ;
  • l’ingestion (par voie buccale) ;
  • le transfert, par le placenta d’une femme enceinte, à un enfant qui n’est pas encore né.

La plupart des produits chimiques utilisés sur le lieu de travail peuvent être dispersés dans l’air sous la forme de poussières, de brouillards, de fumées, de gaz ou de vapeur, et peuvent être inhalés. Les travailleurs ou les populations qui ne manipulent pas ces produits mais qui se trouvent à proximité peuvent être exposés à des dangers provenant de diverses sources, sachant que les voies principales d’exposition dans le cas d’un accident chimique sont la dispersion dans l’eau et dans l’air. Le contrôle de l’air et de l’eau par échantillonnage est une des activités principales de la prévention et des interventions relatives à des incidents chimiques.

L’atténuation consiste à prendre des mesures pour limiter les incidences nuisibles de l’urgence chimique. Elle repose sur deux éléments principaux:

  • la planification sur place et à l’extérieur du site;
  • la sensibilisation des populations.

Les plans d’intervention d’urgence sur place et à l’extérieur du site doivent présenter des informations détaillées sur les procédures organisationnelles et techniques qui permettent de réduire les effets sur les populations, la propriété et l’environnement, sur place et hors site, en cas d’accident.

Le plan d’intervention d’urgence à l’extérieur du site et tous les plans d’intervention d’urgence sur place doivent être cohérents et intégrés. Pour que ces plans aient une base commune, la direction d’un site dangereux doit recenser et évaluer l’éventail des accidents possibles, y compris les accidents peu probables qui pourraient survenir sur le lieu de travail et avoir des conséquences considérables. Ces informations doivent figurer dans les rapports de sécurité, lorsque ceux-ci ont été élaborés. Les pouvoirs publics doivent veiller tout particulièrement à ce que tous les responsables de sites dangereux, notamment les petites et moyennes entreprises et les usagers commerciaux de produits dangereux, effectuent cette évaluation et élaborent une planification d’urgence.

Les pouvoirs publics doivent s’assurer, par les moyens procéduraux et juridiques qu’ils jugeront nécessaires, que le public qui pourrait être concerné :

  • dispose d’informations générales sur la nature, l’ampleur et le potentiel des effets nuisibles qui pourraient être ressentis à l’extérieur du site suite à des accidents pouvant se produire dans des sites dangereux existants ou planifiés sur la santé humaine et/ou l’environnement, y compris les biens;
  • dispose d’informations actualisées et spécifiques sur le comportement approprié et les mesures de sécurité qu’il doit adopter dans le cas d’un accident impliquant des produits dangereux; puisse consulter d’autres informations disponibles pour comprendre la nature des effets possibles d’un accident (comme des informations sur des produits dangereux capables de causer de gros dégâts à l’extérieur du site) et être en mesure de contribuer efficacement, le cas échéant, aux décisions concernant les sites dangereux et à l’élaboration de plans de préparation aux situations d’urgence pour les populations.

Une protection efficace dans le cas d’un accident ou d’une intervention dépend:

  • de la nature de l’incident (contamination par l’air ou l’eau?);
  • des produits dangereux impliqués;
  • de la gravité potentielle de l’incident;
  • des effets potentiels de l’incident à l’extérieur du site;
  • de la quantité et du type de substances dangereuses concernées;
  • des centres de traitement disponibles pour une intervention d’urgence.

La notification émise par le site dangereux doit déclencher l’application du plan d’intervention d’urgence à l’extérieur du site, plan qui commence par une évaluation initiale de la situation et débouche sur une décision concernant les mesures d’intervention nécessaires.

Dans le cas d’une contamination par un produit toxique, la décision concernant la nécessité d’une évacuation doit être prise par le responsable désigné dans le plan d’urgence. La décision doit se fonder sur une exposition possible ou des effets sanitaires éventuels.

Les systèmes d’alerte en cas de situation d’urgence doivent être disponibles afin de pouvoir prévenir les personnes menacées qu’un accident s’est produit ou qu’un accident peut se produire d’une manière imminente.

  • Le système choisi peut varier selon la culture et les conditions locales, à condition qu’il soit efficace et actualisé. Il peut s’agir, par exemple, de sirènes, de messages téléphoniques automatiques, d’un système mobile de sonorisation et d’évacuation ou d’une combinaison de plusieurs systèmes.
  • Les populations menacées doivent être informées des systèmes qui seront utilisés dans une situation d’urgence, et les systèmes devront être testés à l’avance afin que leur importance soit pleinement comprise par les intéressés et que ceux-ci puissent réagir comme il convient en cas d’alerte.

Lorsque l’urgence chimique est la seule source véritable d’information, il faut recourir aux systèmes d’alerte en cas de situation d’urgence.

Bien que des populations dispersées puissent être touchées par la contamination de l’eau ou de la chaîne alimentaire suite à un accident chimique, les personnes les plus exposées se trouvent fréquemment à l’intérieur d’un site industriel. Dans une zone urbaine, les populations exposées peuvent se trouver à proximité d’un véhicule accidenté transportant des produits dangereux. Elles peuvent également se trouver, mais c’est moins fréquent, à une certaine distance du site sur lequel s’est produit l’accident, parfois dans des régions transfrontalières. Certaines de celles-ci peuvent se situer dans des pays avoisinants dont les plans, ou les capacités, en matière d’interventions d’urgence sont limités.

L’identification des risques potentiels et des régions géographiques dans lesquels les effets sont susceptibles de se produire dans le cas d’un accident fait partie du processus de planification des interventions en cas d’urgence. Elle consiste en général à délimiter et à cartographier les zones d’activités industrielles dangereuses en tenant compte de tous les aspects de la protection de la santé et de l’environnement, y compris les biens, et à prendre des décisions au cas par cas concernant l’installation d’un nouveau site ou une proposition d’aménagement près d’un site existant. Les décisions de planification relatives à l’utilisation des terrains doivent tenir compte de la possibilité d’un « effet domino » et de la nécessité de prévoir des « distances de séparation » afin d’aménager une zone tampon entre les zones à risque et les zones peuplées avoisinantes dans le cas d’un accident. Les populations doivent pouvoir contribuer aux processus de décision liés à l’implantation de nouveaux sites dangereux.

Chemical Emergencies

Technological Hazards

Chemical Emergencies

Prepared by TESEC – European Centre of Technological Safety (Kiev, Ukraine)
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on email

The terms “chemical accident” and “chemical emergency” are used to refer to an event or dangerous occurrence resulting in the release of hazardous substances affecting human health and/or the environment in the short or the long term. Such events or occurrences include fires, explosions, leakages or releases of toxic substances that can cause illness, injury, disability or death to a large number of human beings. The population may be affected through contamination of air, water or the food chain resulting from a chemical accident. Those exposed are frequently either inside an industrial site or close to it. In an urban area, a community may be exposed to hazardous substances escaping from a breached tanker vehicle that has been transporting them. In rarer cases, the exposed population may be at some distance from the accident site, including beyond national borders. In addition to human health effects, chemical accidents may result in extensive and long-term damage to the environment, with considerable economic costs.

The term “chemical emergency” is used to refer to an event or dangerous occurrence resulting in the release of a substance or substances that are hazardous to human health and/or the environment in the short or the long term. Such events or occurrences include fires, explosions, leakages or releases of toxic substances that can cause illness, injury, disability or death, often for a large number of people.

This definition needs to be set alongside the concept of a “chemical accident”, in which exposure arising from releases of a substance or substances may result in illness or the possibility of illness. The number of people affected by a chemical accident may be very few (even none), and illness, disability or death may occur a considerable time (for example, several years) after the exposure.

From the health perspective, there are a number of ways of classifying chemical emergencies, and none of them is comprehensive or excludes all others. Classification could be based on: 

  • the chemical(s) involved, the amount released, their physical form, and where and how the release occurred;
  • the sources of the release;
  • the extent of the contaminated area;
  • the number of people exposed or at risk;
  • the routes of exposure;
  • the health or medical consequences of exposure.

The key channels for human exposure in the case of chemical accident are air or water dispersion of hazardous materials (such as flammable, explosive, corrosive, oxidising, asphyxiating, bio-hazardous, toxic, pathogenic or allergenic).

The hazardous chemicals present in communities around the world are mainly in industrial facilities and in transit via highways, rail and waterways. If not properly used, they can endanger our health and poison our environment. Accidents (including fires, explosions and leakages) resulting in the release of these substances can have adverse effects on human health, property and the environment. Human exposure to hazardous substances can cause injury or even death for a large number of people.

The production and use of chemicals are fundamental factors in the economic development of all countries, whether they are industrialised or developing countries. In one way or another, chemicals directly or indirectly affect all humans and are essential to our food production and consumption (eg fertilisers, pesticides, food additives, packing), our healthcare (eg pharmaceuticals, cleaning materials) or our well-being (eg appliances, fuels). Chemicals have become a part of our life, sustaining many of our activities, preventing and controlling many diseases and increasing agricultural productivity.
It is not just the worker handling chemicals who is at risk. We may be exposed in our homes through misuse or by accidents or be contaminated via consumer products such as food.

Most chemical accidents are limited in their impact but some of them have been on the scale of disasters:

  • the 1984 gas leak in Bhopal (India) with thousands of deaths and many people permanently disabled (http://www.bhopal.com);
  • the 2000 explosions at the Fireworks S.E. company which stored and assembled fireworks in the city of Enschede (Netherlands) caused the death of 22 people and injured almost 1,000 more. The incident caused extensive damage to a large area immediately surrounding the factory, including a residential area and also the Grolsch brewery (containing a large ammonia refrigeration system);
  • the 2001 AZF fertilizer plant accident in Toulouse (France) in which the explosion of 300 tons of ammonium nitrate resulted in 30 deaths and around 10,000 injuries.

The environment may be affected: chemicals can pollute the air we breathe, the water we drink and the food we eat; they can also affect forests and lakes, destroying wildlife and degrading ecosystems. 

Human exposure may occur directly through skin or eye contact, inhalation or ingestion of hazardous chemicals.

The harmful effects of chemical substances depend on the toxicity of the chemical and exposure to it. Toxicity is a property of the chemical substance, while exposure depends on the way the chemical is used. The level of exposure depends on the concentration of the hazardous chemical and the period of contact time. Many substances do not give any warning by odour, even though they may be present at dangerous concentrations in the air.

The effects of chemicals on humans may be acute: after brief exposure an immediate effect may be experienced. Chronic effects usually require repeated exposure and involve a delay between the first exposure and the appearance of adverse health effects. A substance may have both acute and chronic effects. Both acute and chronic conditions can result in permanent injury. Exposure to solvents may cause contact dermatitis, headache or nausea and these effects could be both acute and temporary.

Consequences of chemical accidents are not limited to direct human exposure, death or injury but also include environmental contamination requiring decontamination and recovery. In the case of severe accidents (like Bhopal in 1984, Enschede in 2000 or Toulouse in 2001) with thousands of victims, there are also psychological, economic and social consequences to be taken into account.

The prevention of chemical accidents and protection of communities and environments from chemical emergencies is based on an Integrated Emergency Management System having as key elements: prevention, preparedness, response and relief. 

Prevention has the main objective of preventing accidents involving hazardous substances and limiting any adverse health consequences if an accident occurs. 
The management of a hazardous facility has the primary responsibility for designing, constructing and operating it and for developing the means to do so. 

Public authorities, including health authorities in different countries, should co-operate and exchange information which could help to prevent accidents or human exposure to chemicals. Health/medical professionals should be involved in decision-making related to the prevention of chemical accidents. 

Preparedness, response and relief are the main tools for minimising the consequences of Chemical Emergencies.

Emergency preparedness has as a main objective the minimisation of negative consequences of an accident. The roles and responsibilities of individuals and organisations expected to be involved in emergency response activities should be clearly defined in emergency plans (including learning the warning signals and knowing what to do during an emergency). As part of the emergency planning process, there should be an identification of potential risks and the geographical zones where effects are likely to occur in the event of an accident. It is only through knowledge of the sources and nature of chemical risk that safety can be ensured. 

Preparedness and response planning should take into consideration the nature of possible clinical (and also psychological) effects on those potentially affected, including response personnel, workers and the local population. 
Hospitals and other treatment facilities, which may be called on during response to an accident involving hazardous substances, should develop systems for receiving and handling large numbers of patients at one time. 

Emergency response and relief has as a primary objective the protection of oneself and that of others from harm. On-site emergency management should decide on the immediate actions to take, including actions intended to avoid or limit exposure to hazardous substances, based on preliminary information concerning the site, the nature of the release, the hazardous substance(s) involved and any related analyses. Health/medical personnel should provide assistance, upon request, when such decisions have to be taken. Efforts should be made by public authorities and industry to improve public awareness of chemical hazards in the community and of how to respond in the event of an accident (for example through an understanding of the procedures related to possible evacuations and to sheltering in situ). If an accident occurs, the public should be given specific information in real time on the appropriate conduct and safety measures to adopt. 

Appropriate epidemiological and medical follow-up of chemical accidents should be initiated after the release of toxic chemicals. Persons who may have been significantly exposed to toxic chemicals during an accident (whether they are actually affected or not) should be examined and properly registered to allow for short- and long-term follow-up. It may be advisable to take biological samples for immediate and later analysis. 

The harmful effects of chemical substances depend on the toxicity of the chemical and exposure to it. Toxicity is a property of the chemical substance, while exposure depends on the way the chemical is used. The level of exposure depends on the concentration of the hazardous chemical and the period of contact time. Many substances do not give any warning (by odour for example), even though they may be present at dangerous concentrations in the air.

The first and most essential step in the safe use of chemicals is to know what they are, their potential impact on health and the environment and how to control them. That knowledge should be available for all. Furthermore, that inherently complex knowledge must be organised in such a way that essential information on chemical hazards and corresponding protective measures can be identified and conveyed to the user in a form that is easy to understand. 

The protection of the population and environment from Chemical Emergencies is a key aim of an Emergency Management System. The management of a hazardous facility has the primary responsibility for designing, constructing and operating it safely and for developing the means to do so. 
No chemical substance can cause adverse effects without first entering the body or coming into contact with it.

There are four main ways for chemical substances to enter the human body: 

  • Inhalation (breathing in).
  • Absorption (through the skin or eyes).
  • Ingestion (eating, swallowing).
  • Transfer via the placenta of a pregnant woman to an unborn baby.


Most chemicals used in any location may be dispersed into the air in dust, mist, fumes, gas or vapour form and can then be inhaled. Workers at a facility, and also the local population not actually handling them but still within reach, can be exposed to a mixture of chemicals from various sources. 

The key manner of exposure for humans in the case of a chemical accident is therefore via air or water dispersion of hazardous materials. 
Air monitoring and liquid sampling is one of the most important activities in the prevention of and response to chemical incidents. 

Mitigation refers to the measures undertaken to limit the adverse impact of a Chemical Emergency.

It is based on two main components:

  • Planning for emergencies on the site of a hazardous facility and off-site;
  • Community awareness.


The on-site and off-site emergency plans should give details of the technical and organisational procedures applicable in the event of an accident to limit the effects on people, property and the environment both within the facility and outside it.

The off-site emergency plan and all relevant on-site emergency plans must be consistent and integrated. To form that common basis for off-site and on-site emergency planning, the management of a hazardous facility should identify and assess the full range of potential accidents (including low-probability, high-consequence accidents) in the installation. This information should be available in the emergency plans. Public authorities should take particular care to ensure that all hazardous facilities (including small and medium-sized enterprises and commercial users of hazardous substances) carry out such assessments and the appropriate emergency planning.

Public authorities should ensure, through the legal and procedural means they deem appropriate, that the potentially affected community is provided with:

  • general information on the nature, extent and potential off-site effects on human health and/or the environment (including property) of possible major accidents at existing or planned hazardous facilities;
  • specific and timely information on the appropriate conduct and safety measures they should adopt in the event of an accident involving hazardous substances;
  • access to other available information needed to understand the nature of the possible effects of an accident (such as information on hazardous substances capable of causing serious off-site damage);
  • capability to contribute effectively, as appropriate, to decisions concerning hazardous facilities and the development of community emergency preparedness plans.

Effective protection in the event of an accident or response depends on:

  • the nature of the incident (is it an air or a water release?);
  • the hazardous substances involved;
  • the potential severity of the incident;
  • the incident’s potential off-site effects; 
  • the quantity and type of the hazardous substance(s) involved;
  • the treatment facilities available for emergency response.


Notification from the hazardous facility should trigger the implementation of the off-site emergency response plan, beginning with an initial assessment of the situation leading to a decision on which response actions are required.

In the case of the release of a toxic substance, the decision on whether the potentially affected community should shelter indoors or be evacuated should be taken by the responsible person designated in the emergency plan. The decision made should be based on likely exposure and possible health effects.

Emergency warning alert systems should be available to warn the potentially affected public that an accident has occurred or that there is an imminent threat of an accident:

  • The system chosen may vary depending on local culture and conditions, providing that it is effective and timely. Suitable warning systems could include, for example, sirens, automatic telephone messages, mobile public address systems or a combination of systems.
  • The potentially affected community should be notified of the systems which will be used in an emergency, and the systems should be tested in advance.


Emergency warning alert signals and announcements should be fully understood by the public and the public should know how to respond appropriately in an emergency. Time and distance from the contamination source are important factors in limiting exposure to the public. The shorter the period of time an individual stays in a contaminated area and greater the distance from the source of contamination, the smaller the exposure received by them. 

While dispersed populations may be affected through contamination of water or the food chain resulting from a chemical accident, those exposed are frequently inside an industrial site. In an urban area, a community may be exposed to hazardous substances escaping from a breached tanker vehicle that has been transporting them. In rarer cases, the exposed population may be at some distance from the accident site, including beyond national borders. Potentially affected areas in neighbouring countries could include those with limited chemical emergency response plans or capabilities. 

The identification of potential risks and the geographical zones where effects are likely to occur in the event of an accident is a part of the emergency planning process. It should include general zoning and mapping of hazardous industrial activities, taking into account all aspects of protecting health and the environment (including property) and case-by-case decision-making concerning the siting of a new facility or proposed development near an existing facility.